Beautiful

I have this weird quirk – yeah I know, I have tons, but I’m only going to talk about one right now.

I’ve been trying to figure out a way to explain this for ages (Twitter years=307). But since I am not good with the words, I’ve been unable to express this right. Hopefully, I can put this down and then one of my amazingly talented writer friends can put into words what I’m trying to say. OK, here’s the deal.

It may be because when I was growing up I never saw anyone who looked like me, or that I had no one to help me understand this concept, but, it seems that in many ways I created my own definition of what “Beautiful” means. So here it is: Crazy Caroline’s definition of “Beautiful.”

Beautiful to me is gender neutral. When I meet an amazing man or woman – my description is Beautiful.

Beautiful has nothing to do with physical attributes. I know – odd, but keep reading.

Beautiful is someone who is smart, funny and kind.

Beautiful is someone who is sincere.

Beautiful is someone who has accomplished something – motherhood, a career, fatherhood, being an awesome friend – whatever the accomplishment is – they know it and feel great about it.

That’s pretty much it.

The other odd part about me is that I have trouble, no I’m incapable, of distinguishing the beauty I see in people and their physical attributes. That is not to say that I don’t think you are physically attractive, (you all are, of course gorgeous), it’s just that my brain cannot separate how I feel about you with how I see you. I see you with my emotions, not my eyes.

I have known some very physically attractive people in my life who were mean, petty, shallow and/or insecure. To me they will never be Beautiful. It’s as simple as that.

Two very brief, incomplete examples below of how I see some of the most beautiful people I know. On the left is what most people see, on the right is what I see.

My Mom:

 

Some of my friends:

For every word above, there are 100 different acts, events, encounters that meant the world to me. Sure I could probably only pick one of you out of a crowd. For many of you these pictures aren’t even you. But see, to me it doesn’t really matter. Because I see you as kind, smart, funny and well – Beautiful and that’s all I need to know.

Next time – other weird crazy shit about Caroline ;o)

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Beautiful

  1. Pamela Carlson says:

    It’s a lovely way to see people…with your heart.

    Hugs!

  2. Michele says:

    And guess what: That unique outlook of yours, that “crazy Caroline” thing, makes you impossibly beautiful. Thank you for letting us see through your eyes.

  3. lulu says:

    That’s ME! Oh now you’ve done it! You’ve made me cry…. sweet tears of delight. I SO relate, Caroline. Smart, funny & Kind wins the day. #AndsoYouaretome #beautiful 😀 #ordork

  4. The tears in my eyes after reading this touching post more adequately express my comment than words could. Beautiful! ❤

  5. j says:

    “I see you with my emotions, not my eyes.”

    Wow. If only the world had more people crazy (and beautiful) like you. xoxo

    • casoly says:

      As our friend Tammy says: “Right Backatcha!” :o) Thanks J, that means a lot. xox

    • Sue says:

      I felt the same when I read that bit. I get choked up thinking what a different place it would be, if more people saw beauty with their emotions and not their eyes. My favorite Carole King song is called Beautiful. I wish the message of that (you’re as beautiful as you feel) for my daughter. Thanks Caroline for a wonderful post.

      • casoly says:

        Thanks for reading Sue! I do wish sometimes that I was more normal in many ways, but not in this way. I prefer my version over the normal version. 🙂 xox

  6. Mary says:

    I can only echo the sentiments of those who commented before me. I love your unique perspective and the crazy beautiful that is you.

    You really should write more… 🙂

  7. Becky says:

    Beautiful. 🙂 And you do it well.
    I hope we can all hope to become more beautiful each day.

  8. I think you expressed it perfectly.

  9. Pingback: The Friday List, 3/11/11 | Zebra Sounds

  10. LunaJune says:

    I love the cloud of words…
    we see with our hearts

    so glad Judy put you on the Friday list…

    it is beautiful

  11. If you’re Crazy Caroline then I must be Kooky Kellie because we see beauty the same way.

    I, too, am incapable of separating how I feel about someone from how I see them. Mean = ugly every time. Smart = sexy every time (unless they are smart and mean).

    That’s a pretty fantastic quirk you have there, young lady!

    Quirk on!!!

    Kellie

  12. I think you definition of beautiful is beautiful. No better way to be. I’ll leave it at that, cuz what you said, says it all. Thanks,

    • casoly says:

      Thank you for coming and reading. Our beautiful friend Judy is so well – beautiful to have mentioned me in her Friday List. And thank you, I think maybe I’m ok with this quirk of mine. :o)

  13. You took the time to share with everyone what is beautiful to you, and that gets me thinking about all the things that are beautiful to me, and gets me motivated to share with everyone what I find beautiful. Now, part of what I share will wink to you, just as you wink to everyone else. You are a star; you are reflective of a source of beauty. Thank you!

    • casoly says:

      Thank you! Thanks for coming and reading, I’m glad that I can get someone thinking about things that are beautiful to them. We all should do that more often. Thanks again for the wonderful comment, made my day! ;o)

Leave a Reply

